The past two weeks have had a number of eventful things happen for me. On May 27th, Silver Tongue Press launched (hey! we're looking for authors!). I'm one of three partners, and editor, and help with marketing, and do a little writing on my own, someday I'll actually finish! Since we're small for a while yet, I can wear many hats. Our hopes are, of course, that we'll grown and get to pick and choose our hats, depending on our strengths and necessity.

Then, on Monday, the 4th, I started back to my classes. I'm working on my BA in history, and minoring in English. I'm taking 15 hours this semester, then again next semester, then 12 the following semester. So by this time next year, the Good Lord willing and the creeks don't rise, I'll have completed my BA. That is so exciting to me. I'm always asked what I want to do with the degree. Well, folks, I'm a grandmother, so I'm doing it for me. Not to "be" something or "do" something. I'm doing it for me. Because I can.

Then, on a sadder note . . . a group of us online quilter friends (obviously with my schedule I don't quilt much, but try to drop in now and then) passed away from cancer. It seems to have all happened quite quickly, and she was only two years older than me. She was a true angel on earth. I have never met a more giving or loving woman . . . even online . . . . I'll miss her dreadfully. She always took time to send me quick emails, just to see how things were going for me. She didn't only do that with me, she was equally caring about everyone of our group. I know she was probably like that in person as well. Did I mention I've never met her face-to-face? But, she was important to me. I've known her several years online, so I feel I know her.

As a result of losing this dear lady. A lady that many of us are touched by her passing, and in true mourning for her, I've decided to put to the side the book I've been working on and change gears. I'm going to write a book about her, well about all of us, but about how she touched us with her humor, her caring, and her giving. Wish me luck on it. I hope I can do her proud. I miss you Gerda, but know you're in a better place and are no longer ill.



Leave a Reply.

    Sara Nowlin-Edens

    Passion! That's what life is about. I have a passion for history, for reading, and for crafting. Without these things, I would feel incomplete.

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012

    Categories

    All
    General